Last week - Reisverslag uit Rotorua, Nieuw Zeeland van Ana Laura Schoorl - WaarBenJij.nu Last week - Reisverslag uit Rotorua, Nieuw Zeeland van Ana Laura Schoorl - WaarBenJij.nu

Last week

Door: Ana Laura

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ana Laura

25 September 2013 | Nieuw Zeeland, Rotorua

Last week was full of bad weather and rain so there wasn’t much to do in the weekend. On Friday we went to a school musical production ‘Buddy Holly’ and it was actually really good! It was at a Boys High School and the school reminded me of strict English schools. The walls were covered in paintings of probably important men of history and group photos in black and white of soccer/rugby etc. teams. The school itself was huge and looked like a fancy hotel with carpet floors and a lounge and café. Saturday I spent the day in my pyjamas watching movies and eating croissants and pizza. Good day. I watched: The Time Travellers Wife, A Walk To Remember (loved it!) and The Holiday. On Sunday we decided to move a little so Jill, Maria and I went for a run around the blue lake. We did 5.5km in 40 minutes. At this one point you could see the blue and green lake at the same time, one at each side, and you could really see the different colour belonging to its name! It was really sunny until we got home and it started raining for the rest of the day. We decided to play some singstar and sing as loud and out of tune as we could, great fun!

Now some new and weird things that happened to me last week. So I was just sitting in geography class doing my thing and then we heard 3 bells ringing. It wasn’t interval because we had 30 minutes left so I thought that was a little bit weird. Maybe it was a fire alarm but no instead everybody just jumped under their table. I was so incredibly confused I was just sitting and looking around and I said: uh what’s happening? And they told me it was an earthquake safety drill (if you call it like that). I just followed the rest and sat uncomfortable under my desk for 2 minutes. After that every student had to walk to the field where they’d come together. We were supposed to sit on the ground ‘unless the ground breaks or cracks because then we don’t know what to do’.

The day after there was a music performance during interval. People were singing and we were sitting down. After their performance they all lined up. I was expecting them to make a bow hold hands and smile but NO. Instead they made this terrifying face with huge eyes and they started yelling and screaming something in Maori. They continued making a sort of dance of it and then some students behind me ran to the stage and stood in front of them and did the thing, like they were competing. I got so scared I almost cried hahahahah. I asked: ehm what’s happening?!!! They laughed because they forgot I had never seen this before! It’s called the ‘Haka’. And people do it to show respect. Like at the beginning of a rugby play the team do the Haka. The world’s famous Haka of NZ’s All Blacks team is known well.

  • 25 September 2013 - 23:47

    Sabine:

    Hoi Analaura!

    Zo te zien heb jij het allemaal prima voor elkaar. Blijf lekker genieten van alle nieuwe en spannende dingen die je mag beleven dit jaar. Maak zoveel mogelijk nieuwe vrienden dan kun je straks terugkijken op het beste jaar van je leven! groetjes, Sabine

  • 26 September 2013 - 02:19

    Tia Mausi:

    Otras aventuras que seguramente NO olvidaras, eh?? Me da gusto que de toda experiencia estes sacando lo mas positivo y hasta humoristico... Ahora ya nadie tendra que ensenarte que hacer si tiembla cuando visites a abuelitos en Mexico. Y cada vez que te toque ver un partido de los All Blacks, vas a sonreir para tus adentros, muy orgullosa, porque viste THE ORIGINAL Haka, in New Zealand.... Wow !

    Estas conociendo muchos nuevos aspectos de un pais marcado por la influencia britanica... y no cabe duda que tu ingles refleja esa influencia en las frases y palabras que usas... ya hablabas bien, pero noto una gran fluidez y estilo correcto en tu relato... keep it up !!

    Y recuerdame este sabado 28 sept., porque yo tambien voy a estar emitiendo sonidos, esperamos no tan desafinados, cuando me pare a cantar con mi coro en medio del centro comercial que conociste aqui !!!

    Espero sobrevivir....
    ;)

  • 01 Oktober 2013 - 17:24

    Mummin:

    Aniux, que de experiencias nuevas. Me encanta cóo relatas tus aventuras. Qué interesante. No cabe duda de que estás aprendiendo mucho sobre la cultura y costumbre de tu país anfitrión.
    Eso del Haka me parece interesante y divertido, lo mismo que tu vivenvia del ejercicio en caso de sismo.
    Ya me imagino tu cara de sorpresa! ja, ja. Saludos cariñosos de tu mummin. Mua,

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ana Laura

My name is Ana Laura I am 19 years old and I use this blog to keep my friends and family updated on my most recent trips. Also I love to write and share my thoughts and experiences withe everyone who wants to hear them. My biggest passion is travelling which is why I look for all the opportunities I have to do so. I am half Dutch and half Mexican but secretly I don't feel like I strongly belong to any of those countries. More like a citizen of the world kinda thing! Enjoy!

Actief sinds 29 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 372
Totaal aantal bezoekers 36027

Voorgaande reizen:

19 December 2015 - 26 December 2015

Mauritius

27 Juli 2015 - 14 December 2015

Cancun exchange

08 Oktober 2015 - 12 Oktober 2015

Cuba

29 Juli 2013 - 03 Juli 2014

Rotary exchange year New Zealand

Landen bezocht: